Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s)
  • Yes
Preferred Locations
  • NSW: Regional NSW   QLD: Northern, Western  

Mature Adventurer

70, Returned Australian Overseas Volunteer

I am an experienced house sitter and as a home owner, know the importance of that special place that we create as our own home. I have previously had a "furry family members" (Rottweilers) and value the unique relationships we can have with such special and faithful creatures.

In November 2019 I returned to Australia after spending 4 years in Papua New Guinea as an Australian Volunteer International, longing for more adventures. So I have purchased a 22 foot Fiat motor home and am travelling around Australia on a vague/flexible 2-3 year plan. I am house sitting along the way to learn more about local communities and environments.

When house sitting I treat your home and pets with the respect that I do my own. I am a fit, active and healthily person and enjoy daily walking with pets. I like to potter in the garden and am a clean and tidy person in the house. As a non-smoker I am looking for a house sit in homes where the occupants are also non smokers.

I have numerous endorsements and references and a 2013 police check.

Reviews (19)
No rating Des is a lovely lady who takes much care in looking after ones home. She kept us updated and we felt totally secure in leaving her in charge. We would highly recommend her and would have her housesit again if she was available. Thanks Des
MERYL AND VERN (Attadale WA, Aug 2018)
I'm very pleased with Dorothy, what a wonderful person, the house has been spotless every time, my cat Mellow who is very independent but I know he was much happier with the house sitter, being a rescue cat. Thank you Dorothy I so hope we meet up again sometime.
 
ANNA (Seaford VIC, Feb 2020 - 1 week 2 days)
It was a pleasure to welcome Des into our home, like being reacquainted with a friend. Bella and Night loved having an intrepid wanderer to take to their favourite Rail Trails. Des was great with regular updates and comfortable to find her way around our region. We hope to see Des again soon.
 
DI (Warragul VIC, Jan 2020 - 3 days)
Des was easy going, punctual and was always easy to contact. She was absolutely no fuss. The whole experience was simps, straight forward and pleasant. She kept the house tidy, looked after the animals really well and kept us informed of any significant events. We would definitely ask her to house sit for us again in the future. If she would like to!
 
ROBYNNE (Jam jerrup VIC, Jan 2020 - 1 week)
Thanks for opportunity to sit for you in such a great environment Cheers Des
Des is an amazing house sitter. She took time to meet me and my dogs before the sitting date and to receive an overview of the routine. Des communicated frequently with updates and photos of my dogs and easily set my mind at ease regarding their care. Des noticed one of my dogs had hurt himself and promptly arranged a vet visit through my emergency contact. She competently administered the necessary medication and kept me updated regarding my dog's recovery. Des kept my garden well watered ... MORE
 
ANNIE (Trentham VIC, Dec 2019 - 2 weeks 3 days)
Des is a lovely lady who took great care of my two older dogs, we were updated with pictures and texts about how the dogs were going and they didn't seem to miss us at all. The house and garden was looked after as well. which was great as we had some especially hot days. I would recommend Des to anybody needing a good housesitter.
 
MARGARET (Chirnside Park VIC, Dec 2019 - 1 week 3 days)
Thank you for your review Margaret, it was a pleasure to care of Casey, Copper and your delightful home.
No rating Des was conscientious in taking care of the house and my little dog who was very happy and relaxed on my return. Ideal for pet sitting. Thank you Des.
JULIE (Dunsborough WA, Jul 2018)
For 3 weeks Des took care of my dog, who has an advanced heart condition. I was reluctant to leave Pablo with anyone, due to the responsibility of caring for him, but after chatting with Des she put my mind at ease that she was up for the challenge. After meeting Des, I was convinced she was the right person for the job. She took on the role without becoming too stressed and made sure she kept Pablo's routine as regular as possible. This allowed me to relax and enjoy my holiday. I came home ... MORE
 
DIONNE (Dalyellup WA, Jun 2018 - 3 weeks)
Thanks Dionne, I hope all is going well with you. I wpnder how Pablo is going? I'm now heading back to Melb, returning to PNG for 2019 Cheers Des
No rating I had Des housesit for 2 weeks, a very interesting lady, easy to get along with. My dogs, cats and chooks appreciated her care. My house was cleaner than when I left home!
WENDY (Gledhow WA, May 2018 - 2 weeks)
I highly recommend Des to house sit for any one looking for a house sitter. She is calm and relaxed. All my fur babies were happy with Des. House is clean & tidy. I would have Des again any time to house sit. Thank you very much Des.
 
LIA (Cockatoo VIC, Mar 2018 - 1 week 1 day)
No rating Des has such a calm and lovely nature that our cat Max took to her straight away when she looked after our house, cat and chickens in March. We returned to happy animals and a neat and tidy home and garden. I would highly recommend Des as a competent and trustworthy sitter and would certainly have her stay here again.
JANICE (The Gurdies VIC, Mar 2018 - 4 days)
Des did a fantastic job House Sitiing whilst we were away for 3 weeks. This was our first time using a House Sitting service so were apprehensive. However our minds were at ease after meeting Des. All of our pets were well looked after (2 Dogs, Cats, Birds, Fish and Crabs). The Dogs enjoyed 2 walks a day, a task we struggle doing with full time jobs. So Highly recommmend Des and would definitely use her again to House Sit.
 
KADE & CAITLIN (Chirnside Park VIC, Oct 2017 - 3 weeks)
Many thanks, hope you're enjoying your holiday Cheers Des
No rating What a pleasure to have Des look after our home and animals. Would recommend in a heart beat and wish she was available for our holiday in January! Have a great time in New Zealand Des!
SHANNON (Mulbring NSW, Sep 2017 - 6 days)
Dorothy was our house sitter for 3 weeks while we went overseas. She looked after our two small house dogs with lots of love and care, we came home to two happy and contented boys and a clean house. Our house was on the market at the time and Dorothy was very flexible with inspections, this went beyond the call of a house sitter. She communicated with us regularly not only about the house inspections but the welfare of the boys. Pictures of the boys were sent to us constantly, always very ... MORE
 
JOAN CHAPMAN (Bellingen NSW, Sep 2017 - 3 weeks)
Thanks, Joan I hope all is going well with you and the boys I am currently returning to Melb from Geraldton, heading back to PNG for 2019! Cheers Des
No rating Des is lovely, we were lucky to meet her before we went away. For the short time we were away Des provided us with plenty of emails, photos and updates of our dog. Des took her for walks every day, and our fur baby seemed very happy and well looked after on our return. Des emailed us regarding her plan on our return to keep us up to date. She was also very helpful and offered to do things around the house before she left. Your home and animals will be in good hands with Des, hopefully ... MORE
AILEEN (Farmborough Heights NSW, Aug 2017 - 1 week 3 days)
Des was great. Kept us updated about Ruby & house was in better condition than when we left it. Would strongly recommend her services.
 
AISLING (Mitcham VIC, May 2017 - 1 week)
It was wonderful having Des care for our dog Ebony and our home while we enjoyed an interstate trip recently. Knowing that Des was at home looking after the "home fires" and playing with Ebony make our holiday care free. Thank you Dee for being so caring of Ebony and our home. Thank you for washing the linen and also cleaning our home before you left, this was especially appreciated. We look forward to you caring for Ebony and our home in the future.
 
DESMA (Swan Reach VIC, May 2017 - 1 week 1 day)
Des has just finished housitting & dog sitting for us. We could not recommend her more highly. Our dog seemed very happy & our home was left in excellent condition. She even bought some milk for us & mowed our lawns....what a gem.
 
TOM (Wheelers Hill VIC, Apr 2017 - 3 weeks)
Dorothy (Des) housesat for me for two weeks over the Xmas/New Year period. It was the first time that I have used a housesitter, so I was a little nervous. It was a wonderful reassuring experience having Des take care of our house, 2 dogs, chickens and cows. I cannot recommend Des highly enough. Our animals were extremely well cared for, as was our home. We arrived home late in the evening and Des had kindly prepared an evening meal for my husband and myself. The house was immaculately clean ... MORE
 
KAREN (Yungaburra QLD, Dec 2016 - 3 weeks)
Thanks Karen. Hope all is well with you
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge