Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Dates
  • 25 Mar 2022* - 22 Apr 2022* (*Approx)
  • 4 weeks
What we need
  • Dogs (2), Cats (1), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (4)
  • Minimal
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • Outside only

We need a house sitter

Melbourne - Yarra-Dandenong Ranges

David

The property is on about 8 acres but is not in an isolated position, being less than 2 kms from an excellent veggie shop, and a few other shops. The nearest supermarket is about 5 kms. Trains to Melbourne (just under an hour) go frequently from Lilydale (1/2 hour by car or bus).

The dates are, at the moment, not set and we plan to be away for two or three weeks within the period.

There is the usual light cleaning and so on, but our main requirement is someone to care for the animals.

There are two dogs, each around 6 years old, Riley and B. They are typical Beagles, being very friendly and harmless but whose life revolves around not only human company, but also thinking about hunting things (such as the cat), and eating (anything within 4 feet of the ground). They enjoys walks (on leads at all times!) and the scents and food they find. There are quiet times too, such as when they sleep as we watch T.V. They are perfectly content to spend the night in the laundry (which has a cat flap into a secure run which they use). They are fed at about 7 in the morning (or soon after) and at about 5 or so in the afternoon.

There is an elderly cat which comes and goes, sometimes wants attention, sometimes does not; eats little but very often. At the time of writing she is kept well away from the dogs (the second one, B, has only been with us a few weeks) and is fed when the dogs are still shut in the laundry or she, the cat Minnie, is in a separate room.

There are four chickens in a run with an overnight hutch. They need regular food and fresh water and the straw cleaning out. We usually get two or three eggs a day.

Arriving a day or two early is often a good idea and if it suited you to stay on a day or two that is fine as well.

House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, Garage/Carport, Pool, BBQ, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher
  • Country (Shopping, Sport, Nature, Quiet)
  • Trains/Trams, Buses, Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Lawn Bowls, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Art/Theatre, Live Music
Reviews (2)
We had a blast looking after D + M's home. They were so warm and clear with communication. Launching place was an ideal spot for us in the valley. The pets were so loveable and cuddly, it was funny watching their personalities come out especially when vying for the prime couch spot. We were a bit apprehensive with the the chickens as it was our first time but they were super easy. It was also lovely to have fresh eggs. We'd happily do this assignment again :)
 
SUSAN (May 2019 - 1 month 1 week)
Our week at David and Marguerite's was so lovely - from the warm welcome upon our arrival, with wonderful hospitality extended to us, to our time with their very gorgeous fur babies and of course, the chickens! A delightful spot with lovely surrounds - thanks so much David and Marguerite for welcoming us into your home for your short trip away. We had a delightful few days and hope you enjoyed your break away.
 
LORETTE (Apr 2019 - 3 days)
 
Travel Rent Free

Travel on a shoestring

House sitting is a fun, immersive way to experience this magnificent country - without paying a cent for accommodation!

Feefo badge