Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Dates
  • 11 Jun 2021 - 31 Jul 2021
  • 1 month 3 weeks
What we need
  • Dogs (2), Cats (1), Fish (10+), Birds (7), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (5), Reptiles (2)
  • Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Outside only

We need a house sitter

South Eastern Victoria - Lakes & Wilderness

Ann

We require a sitter or sitters from the 11/6/21 to 31/7/21 while we go on a holiday interstate..

Sale is a regional hub with supermarkets, specialty shops, clubs, restaurants, cafes, nurseries, sporting facilities, parks, rail link to Melbourne or Bairnsdale, bus links to Maffra and Traralgon, service stations, library, art galleries, etc etc, etc.
Our home is about 20 kms from 90-mile beach and is within easy driving distance of the Great Dividing Range.
Beautiful countryside and lakes surround us with at least three types of fishing available.
The area is diverse with many attractions and places of interest to visit.
You will require a car for this sit, preferably one that the dogs can go in but this is not a requirement, just a preferred.
Our house is solid sandstone and quite large.
It is heated by wood heaters in winter and the guest bed room has an electric blanket and a nobo heater.
We will leave firewood in the wood shed and this needs to be bought up to the house in a wheelbarrow.
If the firewood from the shed is used up, there will be an additional firewood stack available or more can be collected from the paddocks. (really unlikely, we will leave lots.)
We have digital tv and wireless internet via a satellite.
There is an in-ground heated swimming pool, large water tanks and a bore for stock water.
The water is heated by LPG.
We have solar panels on the roof with the power from them going into the grid.
The cooking is all electric, however there is a gas BBQ on the back patio.
The house paddock lawn may need to be cut using a ride on mower and a petrol mower. (unlikely to be needed in winter).
The garden beds may need to be watered using sprinklers and hoses from the bore or the tanks, (again, very unlikely to be needed in winter), and there are some pot plants which will need watering.
The rubbish is collected weekly by a private contractor.
Our neighbours are capable and friendly and will help out if needed.
The mail will need to be collected from the mailbox at the end of the street.
We will cover electricity, rubbish collection, internet and gas for your stay, but will want you to pay for any International phone calls you make and any additional internet data blocks you use.
We have a range of animals which require varying levels of care.
We have two dogs, Kel and Reny, both are Kelpie Cross and are fed twice daily, with occasional treats in between.
Their water bowls must be full of fresh water daily.
The dogs must have at least one walk a day along the dirt road we live on.
If possible they also love going for drives and are well behaved in the back seat of any car, we would like them to go for drives with you, in your car, but this is not a requirement.
Our cat, Saffy, is a black and white domestic short hair and she comes and goes as she pleases.
She needs to have dry food and water available at all times and gets portioned mince meat in her bowl twice a day, sometimes with some cat smoothie on the top, much appreciated.
She is quite friendly once she is used to you and enjoys being patted and generally fussed over, when it suits her.
We have a small flock of geese who need feeding when being locked up for the night.
We have fox problems so they need to be secure at night but are let out first thing in the morning to free range during the day.
They are fed broken up bread which you will need to buy from various bakers in town as well as some lettuce, (if not too expensive), apples, tomatoes etc.
The bread is sold in black garbage bags for $5 a bag as chook bread and we will leave money it and any other necessary purchases.
They have a bucket of the broken up bread with lettuce, apples etc at night and will go into their pen at dusk ready to be locked up for the night. There is also wheat for them and this is placed in several containers in their pen.
They will not go off the property and there is no need to lock them in any area but you do need to lock them out of the house paddock as they are very destructive to garden beds and fish ponds.....
The geese spend the day wandering and foraging on the property and need their water ponds filled every few days from the bore and the water trough in their pen kept fairly full.
We have chooks which need to be watered and fed daily and let out of their fox proof home in the morning, to free range around the house paddock and the paddocks outside it, and locked up again at night.
They may lay eggs which you are free to use.
There are fish in two ponds and these need feeding every few days and the water topped up.
We have two pythons but these could go to stay at a friends if you have a real fear of snakes but we would prefer them to stay.
The 2 snakes would just need their water changed weekly.
The snake care is really very easy and we would really like them to be able to stay so please do consider it.
If you believe you would like staying here and that you can fulfill our requirements, please contact us without delay.
We would prefer a couple but single applicants can apply.
We do require our sitter/s to be home a lot of the time and certainly every night.

House & Location
  • Farm House
  • Internet, Wifi, Garage/Carport, Pool, BBQ, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher
  • Coastal, Country, Bush/Forest, River/Lake, Mountains (Shopping, Nature, Quiet, Conservative)
  • Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Lawn Bowls, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Beach, Art/Theatre, Live Music, Fishing/Boating
 
Live Rent Free

Zero rent

Our members are currently saving thousands every year. It's happening right now. Join in and start saving.

Feefo badge