Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 19 Sep 2020 - 31 Dec 2020
  • 3 months 2 weeks
What we need
  • Dogs (1), Cats (2)
  • Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • No
House & Location
  • Demountable. (Atco Unit)
  • Garage/Carport, Air conditioner
  • Country, Bush/Forest, River/Lake (Shopping, Sport, Nature, Quiet, Family, Conservative, Historical)
  • Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars

We need a house sitter

Northern Territory - Katherine

Julie

I am a retired Defensive Driving Instructor & University Lecturer who can no longer live at home rural block alongside the Katherine river) as I am awaiting major surgery & a very long rehab is expected. My Property Manager is going away for 3 months and my Staffordshire Terrier and two pussy cats need company and care and clean fresh water to share with the birds.

There is abundant wildlife: two possums, some bandicoots, tiny sugar gliders and many wallabies. Butcher birds are free living beloved pets and northern kookaburras congregate to sing at early dusk.

As it is getting hotter the dog and cats need to sleep inside to be safe from pythons. For this reason the home-sit would suit a rural person who wouldn't be daunted by having to be alert to the cats' body language if they were "signaling slithery" and who would be careful to always run cold water first so my green tree frogs in the pipes aren't scalded. (They leave the bathroom at night to catch insects in the kitchen so, whilst I like things clean the cleaning must never put them in danger nor must they be put outside.) Organic non chemical cleaning please.
All animals, frogs and even the occasional cane toad outside enjoy good music and will joyfully sing as soon as you play something nice for them. It will give them security and peace - especially the cats.

After 3 weeks, on 11th October, Paul, the quiet 75 y.o. property manager whose caravan is nestled into rear right corner of block returns to it for two days, goes away for a few days then is home for two weeks during which time if any concerns of a practical nature arise you can ask him for any help needed then he goes again on 27th October and will be away until end of December.
The dwelling has two bedrooms with double bed in larger room and another large bed in the smaller room. Bathroom & kitchen are very small and the lounge room currently has only one couch in it so if the sitters are used to luxury and great comfort one's own motor home, caravan or bus might be preferred as main living quarters but for the sake of the animals I'd like the demountable to be used if you'd like to spread out and enjoy airconditioned comfort during the day and the porch environs before the day gets too hot. I am happy to pay the power to the demountable and supply the food for my animals. Please phone me for more details. I don't have pictures of the Poincianas in bloom as I dropped my phone into hot water but I will post what I have.

 
Get a Bigger View

See different

Care for someone else's pets, go for walks in a brand new place... Surprise yourself and expand your horizons.

Feefo badge