Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 4 Oct 2020* - 10 Jan 2021* (*Approx)
  • 3 months 1 week
What we need
  • Fish (2), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (9)
  • Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Outside only
House & Location
  • Farm House
  • Internet, Wifi, Garage/Carport, BBQ, Heater
  • Coastal, Country (Nature, Quiet, Historical)
  • Supermarket, Lawn Bowls, Pubs/Bars, Parks, Beach, Fishing/Boating

We need a house sitter

Spencer Gulf - Eyre Peninsula

kathryn

We own a 3 bedroom stone cottage on 112 acres facing Franklin Harbor,. We are off the grid with a small solar and battery system, and tank water, so no microwave, hairdryers, or luxurious long showers, but glorious sun and moon rises over the water and sunsets that take your breath away more than compensate in our opinion. We have uninterrupted views to the water to the front ( East) and to the hills to the west. 5 minutes down the road are amazing beaches that sometimes you have entirely to yourselves, and its a mecca for fishermen.
Cowell was voted one of Australia's top 5 free camp regions in Caravan and Camping magazine, so feel free to bring your boat, park up your caravan or even your tiny house!
We have satellite internet, and 240 power to the house but we carefully watch our consumption.
The house has a fenced garden to the front, and a shaded "paviliion" to the rear which is relatively bug and almost snake proof.
Our house sitters would preferably be a fit couple, with some troubleshooting and basic mechanical/farm know how. ( backup generator, pumps, basic on the run repairs. Some watering and weeding of the garden would be appreciated. You would be welcome to plant out the wicking beds with your own vegies.
Brown snakes and dugites are common visitors, so vigilance is essential,
There is a bitumen road to our turn off, and its a 5 minute run into town to an IGA and 2 pubs, jetty, hospital and area school. 1 Hour to Whyalla, 1 1/2 hours to Port Lincoln, so a good base to explore the Eyre Pen.
We are going to be in WA for a minimum of 3 months but it may extend to 12, so it would suit a couple who would like to live a sea change/semi self suf/ off grid lifestyle before taking the plunge, or a retired couple from a larger property, looking for a country lifestyle without the hard work.
We have a 7y/o who we homeschool, so families with children are a possibility, but farm safety, obedience and close supervision must be your priority due to the potential hazards - open shed and workshop and local wildlife. ( long pants and boots outside)

 
Travel Rent Free

Travel on a shoestring

House sitting is a fun, immersive way to experience this magnificent country - without paying a cent for accommodation!

Feefo badge