Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 25 Jul 2020 - 2 Aug 2020
  • 1 week 1 day
What we need
  • Dogs (1), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (5), Farm Animals (1), Horses (1)
  • Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • No
House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, Garage/Carport, BBQ, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher
  • Country (Nature, Quiet)
  • Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Lawn Bowls, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Beach, Art/Theatre, Fishing/Boating

We need a house sitter

South Coast

Lisa

Our home is located on almost 3 acres in a rural-residential area just outside of Nowra. We are minutes from the amenities of town, and only 20 mins to the superb beaches of Jervis Bay.

What we offer you:
Our beautiful 4 bed, 2 bath home in a lovely, quiet setting. It has a renovated chef's kitchen (including espresso machine), NBN, air conditioning, and Netflix. Outside there's a spot in the garage for your car, and plenty of space to park a caravan/motorhome/boat.

You'll have fresh eggs daily, hopefully some veges from the garden, and you're welcome to borrow the bikes or golf clubs.

We have great neighbours, and family and friends who live nearby who can help out if anything goes awry.

What we need you to do for us:
Our priority is for the care of our animals so, first and foremost, we need an animal lover. You also need to be non-smoker(s).

Hank the dog (Weimaraner, 8yo, 44kg), is a people person, and thrives on attention and company. He needs someone who will be home every night, will give lots of pats and scratches, and who like having a shadow follow them around! He's well-mannered and pretty easy going. He wants to be with people, and is an inside dog when there is someone home. He may also be a little scared of being alone in the dark...

Lycan the horse (Thoroughbred, 14yo, 16.3hh), will require twice daily feeding, regular rug changing, and his water refreshed. Being a big boy, we require someone who has experience and confidence with horses. He is a friendly fellow, and enjoys a scratch, some company, and the occasional piece of liquorice or a carrot. He and Hank aren't always friends.

Speckle, Doris, Raven, Flower, Jasmine Tap Shoe, and Butterfly (chooks, mixed ages) have a large enclosure and will just need daily checking for eggs, and topping up of their feed and water, and the clean out of their house. They get the kitchen scraps and occasional treat, and are friendly (especially at food time).

Our home is on 3 acres, but is very easy care. Apart from looking after the animals, we would ask that our plants are watered, mail is checked and the bins put out.

Please note that the dates include the day prior to our departure.

Our home is not appropriate for anyone wishing to bring their own dog as we only have rural fencing.

Reviews (2)
Despite the bush fires that were raging in the area during our stay, we truly enjoyed looking after Hank (Weimaraner), Lycan (thoroughbred) and 7 chickens. We felt greatly supported in these challenging times by Lisa's family and neighbours who provided us a place of safety when we had to evacuate due to approaching fires. Lisa and Chris were very organised and had a fire plan in place which we followed along. Truly appreciated the ongoing communication with Lisa from start to finish.
 
CHRISTIANE AND NEAL (Dec 2019 - 4 weeks)
Mike and I really enjoyed our housesit in Nowra and especially Hank the bubbly Weimaraner and Lycon the thoroughbred horse.Both very easy to look after . The chickens laid beautiful eggs each day, and it was a delight to look after the girls. Lisa and Chris made us very welcome and it was a lovely to spend time in your beautiful home . Hope to catch up again one day.
 
GERALDINE (Dec 2018 - 1 week 5 days)
 
Travel Rent Free

Travel on a shoestring

House sitting is a fun, immersive way to experience this magnificent country - without paying a cent for accommodation!

Feefo badge