Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Dates
  • 20 Dec 2020 - 27 Dec 2020
  • 1 week
What we need
  • Dogs (7), Cats (1), Reptiles (1), Horses (3)
  • No
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • Outside only
House & Location
  • House
  • Garage/Carport, BBQ, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher
  • Country (Shopping, Nature, Quiet, Conservative, Historical)
  • Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Lawn Bowls, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Parks, Fishing/Boating

We need a house sitter

South Eastern - Toowoomba & South Eastern

Annie

Hello,

This is going to be a long ad, but we wanted to give you as much info as possible upfront, so that you have the chance to see if you might be interested in our house sit.

We are a looking for a sitter to mind our 5 acre property and all of our critters for 7 days over Christmas 2020. We would like to have someone come a couple of days before if possible to get to know our place.

We have a 3 bedroom house, with large lounge and large kitchen. We have 5 acres (not a farm, just rural lifestyle block) with a dam behind the house. Lots of trees and some natural scrub down the back.

We have quite a tribe of animals.

1. We have 5 dogs - 1 is a pure bred long hair border collie, the 4 others are half collie, 1/4 cattle dog and 1/4 unknown, but big dogs. They are boisterous when you go outside, they will try to lick you, and sometimes jump on you, but super friendly and love people. Best not to wear white or your good clothes when with them, they will also try to sit on your lap if you give them half a chance! The dogs ages are between 8-10 years. They get fed twice a day plus snacks. They get let out (with you accompanying them) to have a swim in the dam in the afternoon also. During the day they roam in the fully fenced house yard.

2. We have one cat - however he is an older fellow and may not be with us by December to be honest.

3. We have 3 horses. They roam the back yard freely and get fed twice a day with hay. They also like to eat carrots, apples, mangoes and other random food. They also have a round hay bale in the yard that they can eat freely.

4. We have a pet snake who does not require much care, so please do not let that scare you. There is no touching or handling of him required. He lives in a very large cage outside, so you won't even have to go near him if it bothers you, except to check his water, and maybe pop the hose through the cage to fill up his water.

So if that hasn't scared you off, we would like to hear from you.

The location is Plainland, which is halfway between Brisbane and Toowoomba. This area is also known as the Lockyer Valley, or the "salad bowl" as much of the fruit and vege in Australia is grown here. It is an old Cobb and Co area, where they blazed trails to toowoomba from Brisbane.

The things of interest here are lakes and dams, historical museums, local fruit and vege stalls, markets etc. Its an easy day trip to Toowoomba for shopping, and other activities such as markets, museums etc.

It's also an easy trip to Brisbane and Ipswich.

We are a couple aged 66 and 48. We do have a slight preference for sitters close to our ages or above. We are quiet homely people, non drinkers. We certainly would like quiet people to be here too.

We don't mind if you smoke, but it must strictly be outside and no dropping of butts.

If you own a van or similar, we have plenty of space, and would like to have you here at least a few days before we leave to see how things run. If you don't have a van, I am sure we can work out a spot for you.

Well I think that sums it up for now, and hopefully that's enough info to help you think about it one way or the other.

If you would like anything specific, or if I have forgotten something obvious, please ask.

Kind regards,
A & K

 
Travel Rent Free

Travel on a shoestring

House sitting is a fun, immersive way to experience this magnificent country - without paying a cent for accommodation!

Feefo badge