Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 1 Feb 2020 - 30 Apr 2020
  • 3 months
What we need
  • Dogs (2), Cats (1), Birds (3), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (1), Farm Animals (1)
  • Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • No
House & Location
  • Flat - Own Van/MH
  • Air conditioner, Heater
  • Country, River/Lake (Shopping, Sport, Nature, Quiet)
  • Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Lawn Bowls, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Parks, Fishing/Boating

We need a house sitter

South Western - Heartlands

Wally & Glennis

I am looking for sitters for about 3 months from the end of January to the end of April.. We live a 2 hour drive East of Perth, on a 6,000 acre wheat and sheep farm 20 mile East of Brookton.
Dates are a little flexible if that helps.
This is a voluntary position, and your own vehicle/transport is essential. I do not provide WIFI but it is available at the local library.
I am often away on "Granny duty" and need to know "things" are in order when I cannot be around.
We are happy to work in with our sitter to have time out for sightseeing/medical/dental appointments etc. , so long as our times away don't clash, as someone does need to be here every day to attend to the "menagerie".
Accommodation is a fully furnished and equipped, (linen etc.,) granny flat with bathroom and toilet, a new fridge
and stove, R.C. Air Con and a washing machine. about 100 metres from the main house - a van can be pulled alongside. It is important to have your own car/vehicle/transport.
The menagerie consists of:
Caged rescue birds (3), various poultry, 2 dogs, 1 cat.
Once in the swing of it, this takes about an hour morning and hour and a half at night. Can be done easily in 45 minutes. .
We live 120 mile east of Perth on a wheat and sheep farm which borders the Yenyenning Lakes (Beverley) system.
We are 20 mile from Brookton, which has a News agency, Post Office, a butcher, 2 Road houses, an IGA store,
a hardware store, a deli, a hair salon, beauty salon, main stream Churches, Art and craft group, Bowling and Golf clubs etc.,
I go to town once a week and can get an order for you or you can come with me - I volunteer at the local school and am usually away for around 3 hours.
We have a bountiful Lemon tree, some home grown Kale, Silver beet, Rhubarb and Celery, parsley, lettuce, Rocket - Chives - a variety of herbs. Produce varies with the seasons and I am always adding to this to increase the amount and variety of plants grown.
You are welcome to use whatever is in season and eggs when available.
There are several interesting "touristy" spots to visit, such as: Wave Rock, about 2 and half hours East of us and on the
way there, just before the town of Corrigin, is the "Dog Cemetery", a rather unique idea for people to put their precious pets to rest and quite popular.
There used to be an Emu and an Alpaca farm people could visit, in that area too, but I am not sure if it is still open
to the public.
Pingelly, about a 40 minute drive South of us, has an observatory for gazing at the stars.
Dryandra is between Pingelly and Narrogin and has a native animal refuge and breeding programme going.
York is an historic town ship, one of the first settled out of the Perth area in the early days - it has a motor museum and special market days - lots of very old buildings.
Northam (to the North of us) and Narrogin to the South, are both just over an hour drive and are much bigger centres.
About a half hour North of our farm is County Peak from which you can have a 360 degree view of the surrounding
farm lands and lakes - very pretty.
We also have a small lake on our property stocked with Bream - nice eating!!!

>> Kind regards - Glennis

 
Get a Bigger View

See different

Care for someone else's pets, go for walks in a brand new place... Surprise yourself and expand your horizons.

Feefo badge