Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 10 May 2020 - 22 Jul 2020
  • 2 months 2 weeks
What we need
  • Dogs (1), Fish (10+), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (2)
  • Extensive
Sit Features
  • No
  • No
House & Location
  • Cottage
  • Internet, Wifi, BBQ, Heater
  • Coastal, Country, Bush/Forest (Nature, Quiet, Alternative)
  • Beach

We need a house sitter

South Coast

Susan

Farm and dog sitter (small acreage) wanted for May - July 2020
(re-advertised as organised sitter had to change plans)

I am searching for someone/ a couple to look after our 5ac/2 ha property near Moruya, NSW, for 2 months. To undertake this, the sitter(s) we are looking for would have extensive experience with dogs and be committed to being home each day, providing daily exercise and activities and lots of companionship. Ideally the sitter will be experienced in horticulture/permaculture (see below).

Tasks include caring for our (by then) 1 year old Golden Retriever, some chickens (easy), and there may be some fish aquariums (easy care). Garden wise you would need to keep an eye on the watering systems (rainwater tanks, tank & dam pumps) including the irrigation system to our fledgling market garden & glasshouse. You would also need to keep on top of weeds in the market garden/food beds (bonus - you get to eat the food). If we again have endless dry spells, some watering (by hose) will be required to the 500+ native plants that have been planted on the property in garden beds and as part of creek restoration.

Despite it getting cool at night at that time of year (4 - 7 degrees averages), the days are typically still and nice (17- 20 degrees averages) and working outside is very pleasant - there are no flies, no mosquitos and no mowing needed. And the reptiles are sleeping.

What we can offer in exchange is modest accommodation in a 'tiny' house (30m2 Mordek cabin) which has everything (power, hotwater, TV, internet etc) but is only big enough for a couple (who get on well...).

The location is a treat - the cabin is surrounded by trees, we have lots of birds & a big dam, and we are 2 km from Congo Beach and National Park, 12 km from Moruya. The property is quiet and is nestled among similar properties with friendly nieghbours. There is a strong community of organic growers in the Eurobodalla district to tap into.

If interested please send an email and let me know your background. thanks for reading. Susan

 
Get a Bigger View

See different

Care for someone else's pets, go for walks in a brand new place... Surprise yourself and expand your horizons.

Feefo badge