Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 28 Dec 2019 - 4 Jan 2020
  • 1 week
What we need
  • Dogs (1), Fish (2), Birds (6)
  • Minimal
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • No
House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, Cable TV, BBQ, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher
  • Suburban, Bush/Forest, River/Lake, Mountains (Nature, Quiet, Family)
  • Buses, Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Lawn Bowls, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks

We need a house sitter

Brisbane - Western Suburbs

Ashley

Hello -
We have 6 friendly chickens (any fresh eggs they lay are yours to enjoy during your stay), 2 fish and 1 German Shepherd (Aspen who will be 6 months old in December 2019).

The House "Chores"

Aspen our German Shepherd Pup:
-she will be 6 months old in December
- German Shepherds need twice daily walks and lots of stimulating play and games
-not suitable for someone who works full time, she only spends 2 days a week at home while we are both at work, the rest of the time I am home with her
-will have a guideline of food to feed her, cooked and dry

Chickens:
- (Barney the Barnevelder, Rosie the Rhode Island Red, Hay Hay the White Sussex, Goldie the Buff Sussex, Coco is an Astrolorpe hybrid, Cola the silkie) they are pretty self sufficient, they do like to enjoy some treats and daily visits from their humans.
We have a large hen house for them, they put themselves to bed every night;
-they have an automatic door that opens and closes each day
-they free range in their yard but they also like to escape to the other area at their own risk of pup giving chase (they play this game multiple times per week)
-ensure water is fresh every 2-3 days
-ensure feed is topped up every day
- Any cooked veggies go down a treat, and they love fruit (we will give a list of do's and don'ts for treats - there really is only a few things you CAN'T feed chickens!)
-their bedding and pen will be freshly cleaned before we leave but they poop A LOT So if you notice it getting yucky just tip the soiled hay into the garden (any) and top up with fresh hay

Fish;
-feed 1 x per day
No tank cleaning required. We will do this prior to vacation

Plants
-We have some potted plants on our deck and garden area that need watering x2 per week, will walk you through this.

-light cleaning as required; we have a rechargeable vacuum (similar to dyson), dusting, counter / sinks. We use natural products (vinegar, lemon juice), and metho for the yucky stuff if required.

Our Home:
We have a newly renovated family home in The Gap, renovated kitchen with large oven and gas cooktop, espresso style coffee maker with steam wand, newly renovated bathroom, lots of cookbooks to browse. Lovely back deck that is north facing with lots of leafy large trees surrounding with a Weber gas bbq or charcoal bbq. Netflix, wifi, books and a piano with some music books if you like to play or an electric drum set (ask for a demo first!)

AREA:
-Our place is located on a quieter street with a great walking trail just down the road, you can walk to the shops (coles, butcher, fish, produce, aldi) as well as Walton's Pantry and The Lodge cafe's for morning coffee fixes and the recently added Blind Tiger which is known for Gin Bowls.

-we are a short drive to scenic routes (mt glorious, mt nebo, samford valley)

-Enoggera Reservoire is a 2 minute drive from us, BEAUTIFUL lake, with a 5km walking circuit, lots of wildlife and trees. Has a nature centre with a small $7 fee, cafe, water is beautiful for a swim, you can rent kayaks and SUP on most days

-mountain bike and hiking tracks close by on Gap Creek Road or Mt Cootha (lookout over brisbane)

-1 hour drive to gold coast or currumbin. 1.5 hours to Mooloolaba on sunny coast. 1.5 hour drive to Australia Zoo

-20 min bus into the city (express bus), lots to explore in Brisbane CBD
---Southbank for theatre, museum, river views, cafes
---West End / Wooloongabba sport venue, restaurants, indie/hip/alternative
---Paddington & Rosalie for boutique shops, antiques, cafes, sports venue
---James Street, New Farm, designer boutiques, restaurants, cafes
---Empourium / Gasworks district, dining areas and shops
---Brisbane CBD, malls, queen street mall district, cafes, river walks and views
---Mt cootha has a FABULOUS botanic garden (Way bigger and nicer than the CBD botanic garden) also a planetarium and up the hill is a cafe / city views (you can drive or hike to the mt cootha summit)

We are a strict non-smoking family, so please this ad is suitable for non-smokers only.

We have friendly neighbours so if there are any dramas don't hesitate to contact them and our parents live just up the road so will give you their contact details if there is any emergencies.

 
Get a Bigger View

See different

Care for someone else's pets, go for walks in a brand new place... Surprise yourself and expand your horizons.

Feefo badge