Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 25 Oct 2019 - 27 Oct 2019
  • 2 days
What we need
  • Dogs (1)
  • No, Minimal, Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Garage/Carport, BBQ, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher
  • Coastal, Country, River/Lake (Shopping, Sport, Nature, Quiet, Conservative, Historical)
  • Trains/Trams, Buses, Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Lawn Bowls, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Beach, Art/Theatre, Live Music, Fishing/Boating

We need a house sitter

South Eastern Victoria - Lakes & Wilderness

Desma

We are seeking a sitter who is also a dog lover who will care for our dachshund dog (Ebony) and our beautiful garden. Our "sausage" dog is our primary focus, she thinks she's human (so lives and sleeps inside) HOWEVER we do have realistic house rules for her around her eating pattern, walking routine and due to her shape should remain on the ground/floor at all times (she is heavy built with a very long spine so this breed cannot jump up/down or climb), carers are asked to respect our "rules" so not lifting her onto your knees etc - her long back cannot take the weight load stress. She is trained as an indoors /outdoors dog who looks after herself by coming in and out independently throughout the day/night.

Our other important focus are our beautiful gardens, depending upon the weather some plantings and vegie patches may require watering also gravel walkways require raking and removal of dog droppings (if wet weather)

Our home is in "as new" condition so we know you will take care of it as if it's your own. This is a non smoking property. We ask our sitters to strip the bed and wash all linen/towels and put on the clothes line prior to your departure on the last day.

We live in a very quiet court environment but only minutes away from the Gippsland lakes system and 10 - 15 minutes from Lakes Entrance or Bairnsdale for shopping. We love this area as it's such a tranquil and surrounded by natural environments with lots of walking trails, fresh air, water and bush activities ... lots of fishing spots, etc all the things you enjoy are up here waiting for you.

Airbnb reviews .........
Desma and Peter are great host finding the right balance between making you comfortable and giving you privacy. The house is comfortable and very close to Lakes entrance. Breakfast is basic - toast and cereals. We stayed here for a night and had no issues.
We had a fabulous stay with desma and peter and their beautiful puppy ebony! They were so friendly and welcoming.
Lovely and clean accommodation with friendly hosts. We arrived later than we had expected and Desma was very understanding. Thanks for an easy overnight stay!
Fantastic set up for our family, a warm welcome given and privacy provided - Desma and Peter were lovely hosts. We met their lovely, very gentle dog Ebony, who was perfect for our dog-wary 8 year old. We wished we could have stayed longer on our way to Melbourne but it was the perfect stopover for us
It was a nice quiet house with a friendly dog The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The guest area had everything we needed. It was great to NOT have to stay in Lake's Entrance. The local pub (Bruthen) was great for dinner.

Reviews (10)
Lesley and I were fortunate to have had a great house sit looking after Desma and Peter"s comfortable home and Ebony their sweet adorable dachshund. They are ideally situated in Swan Reach in a quiet location with friendly neighbors. With Lakes Entrance and Bairnsdale close by there are plenty of things to see and do in the area. Their home is comfortable with a nice sun room to sit out in while enjoying breakfast and listening to the birds. We stayed with them the night before they left and ... MORE
 
JOHN (Jun 2018 - 1 month 2 weeks)
We have just returned from a delightful house sit in a part of Victoria we often drive through on the way to Lakes Entrance. Desma and Peter are friendly, honest, well organised and community-minded homeowners. Their pet dog (Miss Ebony) is such a delight. The home is spacious, interesting and easy to look after. The garden is fantastic. We loved waking to the birdsong and taking photos of the native birds feasting in the afternoon. Mary and I have only done three housesits and we have been ... MORE
 
DAN (Sep 2019 - 5 days)
This is a beautiful home and garden in a quiet court. They have an adorable dacshound called Ebony. Desma and Peter were a joy to meet. Our housesit was most enjoyable and we would highly recommend it to anybody.
 
ANNE (Nov 2018 - 5 days)
We recently sat for Peter & Desma in their nice modern home at Swan Reach. The Dashound Ebony was a joy to look after. The house and facilities were excellent and we enjoyed our stay very much.
 
PETER (Aug 2018 - 2 months 2 weeks)
Desma is very organised, the house is very clean and well set up, "Ebony" the dog is very cuddly and easy to look after. It was a pleasure from the beginning til the end! Highly recommended 5 star opportunity!
 
BELINDA (Jan 2018 - 4 days)
No rating Our stay at Desmas and Peters was great. Ebony is a very cute dog who loves cuddles, which she got a lot from us. The house is really nice and tranquil. Especially the garden with all it's lemon trees, grapefruit tree, peach trees and herbs is very lovely to sit in and relax. Everything went really great during the stay and beforehand with all the information we needed and we can only recommend anyone who wants to housesit for them to do it.
INA (Dec 2017 - 3 days)
Desma is a lovely host, her dog ebony is a delight to care for.The house is well maintained with lovely gardens. I do recommend Desma to other house sitters. Looking forward to returning myself one day.
 
DANUSHA (Oct 2017 - 4 days)
Desma and Peter are a delightful and extremely welcoming couple. They left clear instructions about where everything is and instructions about the routine for their thoroughly adorable and cute dashound Ebony. A well equipped guest bedroom and beautiful guest bathroom. It was very comfy and quiet staying here in a lovely court location. They have a stunning garden to enjoy as well. Short drive to Lakes Entrance or Bairnsdale. If staying here, you must check out Metung but don't tell anyone as ... MORE
 
LYDIA (Aug 2017 - 3 days)
Desma and Peter were very friendly and welcoming and made housesitting for them extremely easy with clear instructions of requirements. Ebony was a delight to care for with her rich character and love of walks. Delightful rural setting with easy access to tourist activities in East Gippsland. I would highly recommend housesitting for Desma and Peter.
 
DOROTHY (DES) (May 2017 - 1 week 1 day)
We enjoyed looking after a very easy going, lovable dog in a pleasant house with great garden. Desma and Peter made us feel welcome from the very start and we would be happy to go there again in the future.
 
URS (Mar 2017 - 3 days)
 
Live Rent Free

Zero rent

Our members are currently saving thousands every year. It's happening right now. Join in and start saving.

Feefo badge