Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 25 Apr 2020* - 31 May 2020* (*Approx)
  • 1 month 1 week
What we need
  • Dogs (1), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (10+), Farm Animals (2)
  • Minimal
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • No
House & Location
  • converted shipping container
  • Wifi, Garage/Carport
  • Bush/Forest, River/Lake, Mountains (Nature, Quiet, Family, Alternative)
  • Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Parks, Fishing/Boating

We need a house sitter

Northern - Cairns

Angela

Property is 2.5 acres. Able to stay in onsite converted 40ft shipping container which has toilet, shower, hot water, double bed, fridge, sink, microwave and electric cooktop, or onsite in own caravan/campervan. Shipping container doubles as our cyclone bunker and has 6 metre wide carport atttached. Will have access to washing machine, undercover clothes line and undercover outdoor furniture. Able to access power and water if using own caravan/campervan. Able to park caravan/campervan undercover. Will need to care for 2 head of cattle (check water daily, have a look at them and make sure they look fine, they are friendly and able to be hand fed) and approx 40 chickens (4 roosters that crow but are very friendly, clean water daily, feed daily, collect eggs daily, hose out shed once a week). Will need to provide extra care for dog. He will be 9 years old in June 2020. He is an entire male Great Dane. Since losing his best mate (other dog) he has become very human focused and needs loving attention. He is NOT the sort of dog that can be fed once a day and left to his own devices. He loves human companionship. He has own secure dog cage where he needs to be put in at night and when you are not at the property. Able to collect and consume eggs, any fruit and veg that are ripe and a large variety of herbs. Veg and fruit garden is on sprinkler system but pots need to be hose watered (appox 10). Property is approx: 2 minute drive from Lake Eacham, 1 hour drive from Cairns, 10 minute drive from Malanda, 30 minute drive from Atherton, 10 minute drive from Yugaburra/Lake Tinaroo and is surrounded by large cattle properties. Closest neightbour is approx 200m. Minimal traffic passing as is dead end road that leads into world heritage rainforest. Road to property is sealed (not gravel). Neighbours are able to be contacted for support/assistance if required. Mobile phone coverage. No smoking on property. Wifi access. Housesitting job may not suit people with children as dog is very large and does not know his own size and may knock over smaller children while playing (he still runs around like a puppy at least once a day). Housesitting job is not suitable for people who have their own dog or cat with them.

 
Travel Rent Free

Travel on a shoestring

House sitting is a fun, immersive way to experience this magnificent country - without paying a cent for accommodation!

Feefo badge