Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Dates
  • 23 Jul 2019 - 20 Aug 2019
  • 4 weeks
What we need
  • Birds (10+)
  • Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • No
  • Outside only
House & Location
  • Farm House
  • Internet, Wifi, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher
  • Coastal, Country, Bush/Forest (Nature, Quiet, Family, Alternative)
  • Parks

We need a house sitter

Tasmania - Hobart

Wynne

Come stay at a beautiful bush property!

We are on 30 acres 7.5 ks up above the town of Margate, on the very edge of the Snug Tiers Nature Recreation Area, about a half hour out of Hobart. We have a large vegetable garden and hothouse, a fruit and berry orchard, and 14 hens. We also have extensive wildlife; if you're lucky, you'll see bandicoots, bettongs, quolls or even a Tasmanian devil, and you won't be able to avoid seeing pademelons, Bennetts wallabies, possums, and extensive birdlife. The house is modern and attractive, warm in winter and cool in summer, with beautiful views. We have wireless NBN. You will be welcome to eggs (if the chooks are laying) and produce from the garden.

Your main responsibilities will be keeping an eye on the garden, (including watering if necessary, making sure that wildlife are not getting past our defenses--nets are in place, gates are closed, hothouse is shut up, etc--and watching out for the health of the smallest seedlings) and feeding and keeping an eye on the chickens. If we are in a dry spell (unlikely in winter time), watering takes about an hour a day. We will also need you to be available to assist a disabled friend in the unlikely event of an emergency.

We also have a guest cottage on the property, so you are welcome to arrive earlier or stay on later than the main dates needed (23 July to 20 August).

We're happy to answer any additional questions you might have!

Reviews (1)
No rating Felicity, Wynne & Dave. Thank you kindly for sharing your home and space with us, your generosity, good humour and laughs. We had such a lovely stay and learnt a lot about organic gardening and enjoyed the wallabies and peaceful nature time. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you all and see you again soon :)
ANNA & CHAD (Nov 2017 - 3 weeks)
 
Get a Bigger View

See different

Care for someone else's pets, go for walks in a brand new place... Surprise yourself and expand your horizons.

Feefo badge