Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 6 Sep 2019* - 20 Nov 2019* (*Approx)
  • 2 months 2 weeks
What we need
  • Dogs (2), Cats (1)
  • No
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Garage/Carport, BBQ, Air conditioner, Heater
  • Coastal, Country (Nature, Quiet, Family)
  • Buses, Supermarket, Golf, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Parks, Beach, Live Music, Fishing/Boating

We need a house sitter

Tasmania - North West

Kiera

Hello,

My son and I have been travelling for the past 2 years and in this time we have had a fantastic Housesitter, Boom, who we found on this site, who has been taking amazing care of our very old pug Valley, chihuahua Louie and our cat BooToo.
However, Boom is ready to move on in September and we are not going to be able to get back home until mid November. So, I am looking for someone who would be able to 'fill in the gaps!'

It would have to be a very special person as our beautiful pug Valley is nearly 15years old so she need lots of TLC!
This is particularly in regard to things like keeping warm, snuggling her into her bed for the night, and day when it's cold, keeping Louie away from her dinner at tea time, and just giving her lots of love and snuggles.

Since we have been away her health has declined. There is nothing medically wrong with her, it's just old age. So she is quite blind and, I am told, is now often incontinent.
Boom informs me that Valley often doesn't make it outside to the toilet anymore, so she often does her business inside when Boom can't catch her quickly enough. So whoever we can find to take on our sit would have to be unperturbed by cleaning up some poo's.
However, unfortunately this has apparently left the carpet quite stinky.
Therefore, it may be better for the 'special Housesitter' to have their own sleeping quarters, like a caravan or trailer or whatever. There is a seperate building to the main house that has a bed and TV and is comfortable but it would be the your choice.

Because of the issues with Valley and the main house, I think it would be best for whoever might be interested in doing our housesit to be able to go to the property and meet the animals, particularly Valley, and see the house prior to the sit. This would just be to really get a feel for what is required and to make sure you are happy with the arrangement, prior to committing, and able to provide the care that Valley needs.

The housesit dates are a long way off so I wouldn't be expecting anyone to be able to get to Kelso and check out the arrangements for some months yet, but I thought I'd better put the feelers out there to see if there would be anyone willing and able to help us out.
With regard to the dates of the sit, they are also quite flexible too. Boom will be leaving on 7th September so we would need someone who could start then or a day or two prior. But If you would like to stay on for a bit longer we would be happy to extend the departure date to the beginning of December. It was just the middle of November is the earliest we can return.

Please message me if you would like any more details or if you would like me to call you to have a chat about the sit.

Thank you very much.

Kiera and Nathanael xoxo



This was our original ad..

We have a very cosy three bedroom home one street back from the beach. In a very quiet little town Approx. 45 minutes drive from Launceston.
We require someone to stay in our home to take care of our two small, very friendly dogs, Valley-pug and Louie-Chihuahua and a cat, Boo Too.
Boo Too is pretty self sufficient. She was a stray that my three year old son found and kind of adopted. She just requires a human to feed and occasionally (when she wants it) pet her. She doesn't really come inside, prefers to sit on the veranda on the swinging chair..(half her luck!).
Louie is a gorgeous little man who loves to play and chase BooToo around.
No walking of the dogs would be required as Valley is getting too old for walks now, she just needs lots of cuddles on the couch!

There is a heat pump and a wood heater.
Internet access.

There would be no garden maintenance required as I have a gardener who comes regularly to mow the lawns. However, there are two large vegetable beds in a sectioned off vegetable garden out the back (in photos) if the successful applicant would like to grow their own veggies you would be more than welcome.
If there is any major garden work required in the period (ie: wind blowing over trees etc.) I would arrange for our gardener to sort these issues out.

If you have children there is a large trampoline; separate (from the house) large playroom with TV and internet access; we have a three person kayak and life jackets which you are more than welcome to use. The beach is only a 2 minute walk across the road and down the public walkway to the next street. We often kayak to Beauty Point and have fish and chips for lunch then catch the tide back. I recommend you time this appropriately though as its pretty hard going if you are coming back against the current!

Please message and we can arrange a phone chat or meet in person.

I have put a few photos up but not really sure what people would like to see.. Happy to email more specific photos if required.

Thank you for your interest.

Kiera & Nathanael

 
Live Rent Free

Zero rent

Our members are currently saving thousands every year. It's happening right now. Join in and start saving.

Feefo badge