Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
  • Yes
Preferred Locations
  • QLD: Northern (Cairns, Far North)  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Mar
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
  • 2020: 1Feb-3Mar | 4Mar-18Apr 2020: 1May-30Sep
  • On a house-sit right now

Reliable, trustworthy mature married couple.

62 , Registered nurse & farmer (retired)

61, Registered nurse & farmer (retired)

As farm owners we had sitters who cared for our home, gardens, stock & pets for 18 months whilst we travelled around Australia 10 years ago. They even saved our home during the Black Saturday fires & put in a huge effort to recover the place afterwards. We arrived home to find everything better than we ever could have expected.
Our farm was sold, a new home purchased & we are travelling again for 'as long as it takes', .

Last wet season 2018/19 we spent 7 months caring for a remote eco resort on the NW Kimberley coast whilst it was closed. We arranged this sit several months before leaving home allowing us to offer the owners certainty around dates & thus their planning. General maintenance, including the water bore, garden care & security via our presence were our primary roles.

Following this we completed a 5 week house & pet sit in Broome, caring for a loveable & active 12 month old Labrador, kept the tropical surrounds tidy & maintained the swimming pool.

This wet season (2019/20) we have spent 4 months caring for a 40Ha rainforest /nature refuge property close to Daintree Village, Qld, 5 weeks caretaking & tending a property in Portland Roads, Cape York (including some minor handyman DIY & the roles of temporary Auspost postal contractor (for which a police check was required) , & grass mowing for the entire township), & 6 weeks (current) caring for a property on the edge of the rainforest with a dog, two cats & swimming pool in one of Cairns northern beach suburbs.

EDIT : We are now fully booked until 18th April 2020 after which we are planning to explore Cape York by car & camper. Although we have marked ourselves as unavailable for the 2020 dry season whilst we are travelling around the Cape, we do remain open to the possibility of any 'interesting' sits/caretaking on the Cape itself during the Dry should they arise, (or potentially for the 20/21 Wet)

So what can we offer you as a home owner?

We recognise that choosing a house sitter involves trust. We take pride in doing what we say we'll do & letting folk down is something we simply could not contemplate. We are a quiet, non smoking, clean & responsible couple who view it as our duty to respect your property & to care for it in the way you, the owner expects. We expect to maintain & leave a property as we find it if not better. Where possible we hope to have contact with the owner(s) on a regular basis throughout the sit to seek guidance if required & to offer reassurance that all is well. We can however be self reliant if regular communication is not possible.

As farmers we had a property in Gippsland's hills for a couple of decades. I gave up nursing to manage it whilst Julie continued nursing. It was a lifestyle we loved & miss, but the travel bug had bitten. We kept around 30 cows, (raising vealers) 60+ sheep, plus a menagerie of goats (whom we milked), pigs & chooks. Most had names. We always had dogs, pets rather than working dogs. We consider ourselves to be 'dogless' doggie people & having an opportunity to live with someone else's dog(s) for a period of time is something we very much look forward to. I grew up with working dogs - my father was a professional working dog trainer so we also have a good understanding of the wide range of dog ownership styles, & respect them.

We can turn our hands to most things. Household maintenance/gardening, & I am mechanically minded . Small or ongoing DIY projects to keep us occupied are welcome,. 'Pottering' without it being too onerous is preferable to 8 hour days. We are familiar with most common workshop tools & machinery as well as chainsaws, brushcutters, ride on mowers (Incl zero turn), 4wd's quad bikes, motorcycles & tractors etc.

We do not expect any payment, but rather an arrangement of mutual benefit.

Our4wd + off road camper trailer gives us some flexibility but included accommodation during tropical wet season conditions would be essential.

If you feel we may be the people for you we will be very happy to converse further either by messages on this site, by email or by phone with a view to ensuring that we are a good match for your needs.

Regards
Ian & Julie

 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge