Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia

Make contact - Join for free


Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, None
Preferred Locations
  • WA: ALL  
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
  • 2021: 29May-2Jul | 7Aug-25Sep
  • On a house-sit right now

Moving On

69, Happily Retired

74, Happily Retired

We are a quiet, retired couple (NON-SMOKERS) previously having sold our small B&B in the Southwest of WA, and have now established a career as Housesitters (well, not new as we'd done it before) and settled south of Mandurah. Ken an ex truckie and Fran an ex nurse manager. We are still housesitting around WA (mainly) but will look at further afield again later.
Over the years we've had both dogs and cats. Fran bred and showed pedigree Persians for 30 years, and since Housesitting have had plenty more experience looking after Rag Dolls, a particularly loveable breed of cat. Being an ex-nurse & a breeder of Persians has given me a world of experience in being very clued-in to knowing if the animal isn't well. Also very adept giving medications and grooming longhaired animals. So far we've had exceptional reviews -most here but other private ones in the system.
Being B&B owners, we have an eye for detail and are very clean and tidy. Our property was rural on acreage so Ken is very au fait with all things in that area (rainwater tanks, pumps, etc) and is a bit of a handyman too. He can fix most things (maybe he shoulda been called Bob??)

We've been "Sitting" our way round Oz. Having previously travelled the route with kids in tow so it's been a different 'road' this time. We love all parts of Australia but especially the Hinterland of Qld, rainforest & forest areas. We've had a great time exploring but are now back in our home state of WA and Covid free..
Please note we travel in our car and do NOT have a caravan so will need accommodation in your property
We are available NOW March 2021 (book ahead) and prefer a longer Sit (over 2wks where possible) so we can settle in, get to know your pet well and also the area.

Please feel free to read our Reviews. We have a Private one as well as on another site.

Give us a call - we're waiting for you!!
Fran & Ken

Reviews (13)
Fran and Ken took great care of our house as well as 2 cats, 2 dogs, fish and potplants while we were on holidays. They were very understanding when we had to shorten our trip by 1 night due to unforeseen circumstances. They even offered to do any odd jobs we needed around the house too. All pets and plants were happy, healthy and well-cared for upon our return. Thanks for everything Fran and Ken and best wishes for your future travels.
KATRINA (Whitfield QLD, Jun 2020 - 1 week 2 days)
Fran and Ken did a wonderful job looking after our house and feline Clyde. Would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone looking for a responsible and caring couple to look after their house and pets.
DAVID (SMITHFIELD QLD, Sep 2020 - 6 days)
Great people..even left us dinner!!
GARRY (Atherton QLD, Aug 2020 - 2 weeks 4 days)
Fran and Ken took up our house sit while we had to travel for medical care. They took great care of our dogs and cat and sent me photos and updates regularly. It was good to know that everything was being taken care of and this brought me some relief during a difficult time. I would recommend them To anyone.
LESLIE (Cairns QLD, Jul 2020 - 24 days)
Fran and Ken stayed for a week to look after my cat Toofy and some pond fish and small courtyard plants while I was away having surgery. Upon return, the house was neat and tidy and Toofy and the fish all alive and kicking. I left a list of tasks that needed to be done before my discharge from hospital so I could maneuver around my place during the recovery phase. Everything on the list was done and I was able to move back in to my place with ease.
LEE ANN (Cairns North QLD, Jul 2020 - 8 days)
Thanks for your review though I am not sure about the Communication part. From the time you chose us as your Sitter, we kept in contact because you didn't know if you were actually going to need us (if your surgery was canx) & we did not accept any other Sits even during this time of uncertainty. ... MORE
Fran and Ken were fantastic with our 4 dogs. They arrived when they said they would and kept in touch periodically even before the sit. They kept in communication whilst we were away and even did some shopping for our return, knowing we would be coming home to 14 days of quarantine, due to the Corona Virus. I can't thank them enough for all they did and highly recommend them to anyone lucky enough to have them sit for them!
MENNINA (Prospect NSW, Mar 2020 - 17 days)
Fran and Ken are obliging (nothing was too much trouble), good communicators (updated us on pets every few days), pro-active (clipped one cat in urgent need of groom, independently hosed lawns), clean, neat and tidy, self-sufficient, open and honest and very good with animals. We had been in a new home only a few days, everything was disorganised and unsettled, especially our cats (14 yo Scottish Fold and 6yo Ragdoll). Came home to 2 contented animals (we know because they ignored us). We had ... MORE
LYNN (Hervey Bay QLD, Dec 2019 - 8 days)
Goodness that's such a wonderful review. We were very pleased to be able to help you out. The cats were adorable and the house superb. Very quiet neighbourhood and overlooking a reserve we saw some kangaroos grazing on the riverbed one evening. Very good communication and I felt we were "friends" ... MORE
Fran and Ken did a wonderful job, my cat Jazz was well looked after and one happy cat. Thank you both I would have you sit for me again, .
JANICE (Ormeau QLD, Dec 2019 - 3 days)
Janice's home was in a Retirement Village which was a new experience for us. Although we didn't really get to meet anyone they all seemed friendly and waved to us as we passed. Initially we were told we could even have meals there but that turned out to actually NOT be the case and she apologised ... MORE
Fran and Kens communication was exceptional right from the start To confirming dates and reassuring us of thier commitment. We were updated right up to when they arrived. I was very comfortable our animals and home were in great hands. We didn't insist on daily updates with the pet's but it was nice to get photos and msg updates on how they were doing, considering a storm came through and we were reassured our dogs were safe and content. Fran and Ken are a lovely couple and would be happy ... MORE
Christie & John were a lovely couple with a beautiful home and 2 gorgeous dogs Diesel & Jersey plus hundreds of pedigree parrots which was a new "Sit" for us. The dogs were very well trained and behaved except Jersey when you tried to shift her from the lounge at night haha!! In the heat & humidity ... MORE
Thanks Fran and Ken for looking after my pets and home as if they were your own, loved the regular updates and peace of mind knowing everything was ok.
REBECCA (Deakin ACT, Nov 2019 - 4 days)
No rating I found Fran & Ken to be most pleasant. They were keen and looked after the house and garden for me. They seemed to enjoy their stay and took in the local sights of the area. My dog, Echo, was happy as Ken took him for walks ( or Echo took Ken!) to the beach but my precious cat , Amber, decided she would not come home until I did. Thank you Fran and Ken, do hope you enjoy your cruise. Kindest regards, Dianne, Amber and Echo
DIANNE (Fisherman bay SA, Oct 2019 - 3 and a half weeks)
We enjoyed our stay in the little town of Fisherman Bay which although quite remote had everything you needed and was very historical. Echo the dog was very timid but after a couple of days would come to us and follow Ken everywhere. I felt dreadful we couldn't catch sight of Amber but knew she was ... MORE
Fran and Ken looked after our home and cats in April 2019. I had some set dates I needed to fill, and although Fran and Ken had already been booked for another sit nearby, they very kindly tried to shift things around to help me out. In the end, even after their sit at mine had finished, they came back on a daily basis to check that the cats were ok and feed them, even though they were honouring their commitment to stay somewhere else. The house was in great shape when we got back and the ... MORE
ALEX (Bridgetown WA, Apr 2019 - 3 days)
I was very nervous to leave someone with our dogs. My oldest is 12 and youngest 9 months and a little naughty. We had fran and ken come for 8 nights. I felt at ease as soon as they arrived. They kept in contact every day, left the house cleaner that i handed it over and even cooked us dinner in the fridge for when we flew in. I hope if we go on holidays in thw future they can help us out again.
BROOKE (Wellard WA, Apr 2019 - 1 week 1 day)
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge