Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia

Make contact - Join for free


House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in Australia

McDow Family

34, Architect and Small Business Owner

37, Architectural Designer and Small Business Owner

Hi! We are the McDow family. We are a traveling family of 3 husband, wife, and our 6yr old daughter.

We are from Norman, Oklahoma-USA and have been traveling the world in search of where we would like to call home. We spent 3 months traveling in the USA and 9 months exploring New Zealand. We are now here in Australia where we plan to spent the next three months.

We own our own architecture firm as well as teach English to kids online and work via the internet in the evening.

We are fairly new to this house sitting website but have house/pet sat several times not only in NZ but in the States as well. We have watched and cared for people homes, dogs, cats, chickens, and sheep. As well as taken care of their yards and gardens. We have several reviews from all the places we have stayed at during our time in NZ and are happy to send those over upon request. We have now completed five house sitting jobs and have received great reviews from them all. They can be seen under our reviews. We are currently house sitting two cats here in Melbourne and plan to head to Sydney on July 13th. Where we plan to spend at least a month if not longer and would like to end our trip here with a visit to Cairns to swim in the Great Barrier Reef.

Things we can provide:
*photos and updates on your pets and home as often as you would like
*Give medication to pets
*Garden and yard work
*Clean home ready for you when you return
*Willing to learn new skills that your property or pet might need us to do

Why are we doing this?
*We love animals and truly enjoy spending time with them, taking them on walks, and giving them love and cuddles. Being around animals makes us happy and as we can not have any of our own at the moment since we are traveling this is a great way for us to not only provide a service to others but to spend time with animals.
*We love meeting new people and making new connections with others around the world
*To save money - traveling is expensive especially when you are a family and doing this allows us to not only save money but to see different parts of the world and will help us continue to travel.

We are happy to answer any questions, meet in advance (if the time and locations match up), talk over the phone or Skype.

We look forward to hearing from you and would love the opportunity to come and take care of your home and pets.

Thanks for your time and consideration,
McDow Family

Reviews (5)
Sean, Lorena & Gaby house sat for us for 4 weeks while we were away overseas. They are a happy, caring & competent family. We were immediately put at ease when we met them & were confident that they would take good care of our property & animals. We returned home to a clean & tidy house, mowed lawns & and Bailey the cat, wondering where his new friends had gone! They kept us informed of happenings at home & weren't fazed when 6 lambs arrived unexpectedly early! We would not hesitate to ... MORE
MARY (West Eyreton South Island, May 2019 - 4 weeks) From Kiwi House Sitters
What a lovely family. Was really nice to get home to the dogs being so relaxed. The house was left the same as I left. Thank you so much. I would definitely recommend Lorena and Sean to any future house sit. You are always welcome back here.
LIZ (Fairlie South Island, May 2019 - 3 days) From Kiwi House Sitters
It was wonderful to return to a clean, warm home and two very contented cats. Our grateful thanks to Sean and Lorena and Gaby for looking after them so well and attending to Oscar the diabetic cat's needs, above and beyond what a house sitter would normally expect to do. We would highly recommend this young American family as homesitters.
NANCY (Templeton South Island, Apr 2019 - 2 weeks 1 day) From Kiwi House Sitters
The McDow family were immediately able to put me at ease that my property and animals would be well looked after. They clearly have a heart for animals and if you want someone to love your animals the same way you do, I can highly recommend them! Lovely, lovely family, easy to get along with and excellent communication. I would welcome them back anytime :)
CAROLYN (Oamaru South Island, Mar 2019 - 3 weeks) From Kiwi House Sitters
Sean and Lorena were great house/pet & garden sitters. They managed a burst pipe in the laundry at 11.30pm. Contacted the plumber and had everything dried out. The house was clean and tidy, garden and lawns watered and mowed on my return. Millie,Ashe and Cajun were all calm and happy. They had sent thru pics of Millie enjoying their company and messaged if they weren't sure of something. I would certainly recommend them and have them back. Thank you very much Sean,Lorena, Mireya & Gaby. ... MORE
JACKIE (Cromwell South Island, Feb 2019 - 3 weeks) From Kiwi House Sitters
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge