Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in Australia

Caring, Sensible, Good-Natured, Animal Empath

58, Retired - Solicitor/Health Care

Experiences, not things.

Okay, so I do actually have quite a lot of things, that until recently were packed away into storage. Caring for my late husband for four years somewhat shifted my ideas on what is important to me. When my youngest moved to Canada at the end of 2016 to finish his Chemistry Degree, and then stayed on to work, I decided to stow my household of belongings and become a gypsy.

I call myself an extroverted introvert, so this lifestyle decision was both exhilarating and scary. I love to travel, to walk different streets, eat different food and meet new people.

Yet, I also love the feeling it gives me to care for something; a home, a garden, a furry friend. To be able to stay a little while, to sit on the couch, have a cat on my lap, to read a book, to be unhurried. For me, that is a far more rewarding and authentic experience of a place.

I have finally unpacked my stuff, downsized very dramatically, and am now based in Armidale, NSW, but have been house-sitting around Australia, the UK, and most recently New Zealand, since December 2016. I have done many house-sits, from the young and springy, to some much older ladies and gents; from the totally over-enthusiastic, to the shy or disdainful. No, I am not talking about the home-owners. Come to think of it, maybe I am.

I have been accruing experience and references (and some good friends along the way) through another housesitting website, through word-of-mouth and my Facebook page - TraceyFriendOfTheAnimals - Please do have a look!

I absolutely love animals and, luckily for me, they seem to always like me too. Over the years I have had beloved cats and dogs, from short-hair tabbies to Russian Blues, Boxer dogs to Poodles, guinea pigs, rabbits, chooks, mice, fish and birds. I miss them.

I am always extremely mindful of the trust inherent in leaving someone you barely know to live in your home and look after the furry members of the family. Ironically, I don't know if I could do that myself, unless they were me! I treat your home with absolute respect and care, and welcome being able to spend some time having furry cuddles and walks and play, and all the things I am missing out on, now that I don't have any kids at home or animal friends to keep me company.

Life is short. Walk the dog. Eat the cake. Pat the cat. Buy the shoes. Travel. Each day is a gift. Unwrap it!

*Non-smoker *Own Car *Police Checks available

 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge