Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia

Make contact - Join for free


Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • TAS: ALL  
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
  • 2019: 4Jun-18Jul | 13Jul-2Aug | 23Aug-27Aug | 24Sep-7Oct 2019: 2Aug-17Aug
  • On a house-sit right now

Big Hearted Pet Lovers

43, Cabinetmaker

43, Graphic Designer (I work from home)


Thank you for taking the time to look at our profile and especially for considering us for your house/pet-sit. Your pets and home are our number one priority - especially your pets!

We are Amanda and Andrew, originally from Sydney, and have been married for 18 years. During this time, we loved and adored our two Siberian Huskies, Miska and Keisha - they were most definitely our "kids"! Unfortunately, we lost both of them in 2015 within six months of each other due to old age/sickness, so we find ourselves once again longing for the unique bond and connection you experience with a pet and would love the opportunity to look after your fur babies for you.

With more freedom on our hands, we decided we would love to experience house-sitting and see more of our great country. In May 2016, we packed up our house, sold off all of our furniture and simplified our lives so that we can be very flexible and responsive to home owners needs. We have our own car and are willing to travel for the right opportunities. We don't have any children and are both non-smokers.

We've been housesitting all around Tasmania since July 2016 and loving it! We have been mostly looking after rural/semi-rural farm properties (which we love!) and have had many and varied animals to care for all at once - dogs, cats, horses, cows/steer, goats, alpacas, sheep, chickens, fish, birds - even a peacock! On a housesit in Lilydale, we were responsible for valuable breeding cats and dogs along with a myriad of farm animals, so we are confident in looking after many animals.

We totally understand how hard and heartbreaking it is to leave your beloved pets when you go away ... we have been in that situation many times! As Amanda works from home, we can guarantee you peace of mind that your pets will be receiving the utmost care, attention and company. We love all animals and adore spending time caring for them like the important family members they are ... we don't mind at all if they like to cuddle up on the lounge with us! To give you peace of mind, we welcome communication with you while you are away - be it via text messages, email or Skype calls. We can arrive early to meet you and go through your requirements before you leave. Also, we aim to meet up with you well in advance of you going away so we can get to know each other better too.

Our two huskies experienced many and varied health issues as they aged, from multiple leg operations to cancer, so we are very experienced with prompt attention to health issues, extensive recovery regimes, administering medication and specific dietary requirements.

Having owned very active, larger dogs who required lots of attention, mental stimulation and exercise (Huskies LOVE to run!), we are confident with handling your pet both in your yard and out on walks, as well as interactive play. We have no problems rolling around on the grass with them! And of course cuddles and pats are a given. Amanda has had dogs all her life too, growing up with a black Labrador and then a Kelpie cross. Andrew's family also had chickens for many years. We've also now looked after many cats and love them just as much!

We have both been self employed - Andrew is a cabinetmaker and Amanda is a graphic designer - having run our respective businesses for 10-15 years each, so we are used to being very responsible, proactive and independent. We love nothing more than spending time at home or out in nature, and in particular love the rural life. Down to earth and laid back, we find animals feel safe in our company. Both our dogs experienced anxiety in their later years, so we understand how important it is to maintain a calm and attentive environment for them.

Having owned and renovated two houses, and more recently been renting larger rural properties for 7 years, we are experienced and take great pride in maintaining our home and gardens. We love to keep our house very clean and tidy with a high standard and attention to detail, so we can ensure you will return home to a pristine house! Our references vouch for the pride we take and will give you the confidence to leave your home in our capable hands. We also both have current police checks.

We have also assisted friends of ours who owned a large B&B property in Berry, NSW by looking after their beautiful cat Socks and interacting with guests on several occasions. We love entertaining and cooking, and have actually considered running our own B&B, so should you also need someone to look after your B&B or rental property while you are away, we would love to assist if we can.

We are highly experienced with property maintenance including ride-on lawn mowing, brushcutting, weeding, pruning of trees, trimming of hedges, mulching, fence maintenance, chain saw operation (we've had many a tree come down in the wind!) and pool maintenance. Being a cabinetmaker, Andrew is very hands on with DIY and resourceful when it comes to maintaining a property inside and out. We don't mind hard work or getting our hands dirty. Amanda in particular loves her vegetable garden and had been maintaining one regularly for 6 years, so your veggie garden will be in safe hands.

We look forward to hearing from you and are more than happy to discuss your requirements via phone, email or Skype, so please do not hesitate to contact us. For your peace of mind, all of the homeowners from our completed housesits are more than happy to be contacted too to discuss how they found us as housesitters.

Thanks for reading!

Amanda and Andrew

Reviews (5)
No rating Amanda and Andrew looked after our home and animals for a month and did a wonderful job! They were easy to communicate with and both of them are lovely. Our home and animals were well cared for and we even returned to some beautiful baking on the bench (thank you again, Amanda!). We would have them back any time.
JIM (Hobart TAS, Jun 2018)
No rating Amanda and Andrew were the most lovely couple and it was a good decision to choose them as our house sitters. Our girls immediately took to them and they were clearly well cared for on our return. Our home and garden were immaculately maintained and the communication from Amanda and Andrew both before and during their housesit was outstanding. Thank you both for looking after our girls and our little patch of paradise, not just once, but twice!! We highly recommend you!
WILMA & GARY (Lilydale TAS, Feb 2017 - 3 days)
No rating Andrew and Amanda were fantastic - a lovely couple who looked after the place and the animals wonderfully. The animals all liked them (dog adores them) and I felt really happy leaving them keeping an eye on things. Their communication is excellent and they really put a lot of effort into making sure everything ran smoothly. I'd definitely recommend them to anyone.
HEIDI (Sheffield TAS, Oct 2016 - 3 weeks)
No rating Amanda & Andrew house sat for us this August and had their hands full looking after our little dog, chickens,cattle, sheep & goats for 2 weeks.We had constant communication before, during & after the house sit. They also provided transport to the airport & we returned home to find a wonderful home cooked lasagne in the fridge. Andrew was very helpful in fixing a cupboard door we had problems with. We have no hesitation in recommending Andrew & Amanda so please contact us on 0409377944 for ... MORE
LIZ (Franklin TAS, Aug 2016 - 2 weeks)
No rating Amanda and Andrew were our first ever 'aussie housesitters' and they did a great job. The dog was sad to see them go! They looked after the (domestic and farm) animals very well, kept in touch with us before, during and after the housesit and they left the house clean & tidy. They have since housesat for our relatives who were also very happy with them. I wouldn't hesitate to have them back! Thanks guys!
FLEUR (Mountain River TAS, Jul 2016 - 1 week 3 days)
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge