Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Reptile(s)
Preferred Locations
  • NSW: Sydney (Eastern Suburbs, Inner West, Sydney City)  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
    Dec
  • 2020: 4Jul-9Jul

Animal Lover Available -45 years experience!

50, Self Employed

I've been an animal lover my entire life, growing up with dogs, cats and fish to look after and ultimately a horse as well. My boy, Rasta, passed away in 2016 and, although I'm not ready to have another fur-kid of my own, I miss the cuddles and silliness that various species of furries gives us so have found pet-sitting to be the perfect compromise :-) I've worked professionally with dogs since 1993 as a dog trainer and behavioural therapist and from 2000-2007 I also had a dog walking and pet sitting business called Mutts About. We walked dogs on a daily basis and also provided
'Home Holiday Care', accessing our client's houses to visit pets, walking, feeding, grooming, as well as caring for gardens, etc. We serviced the Inner West and Eastern Suburbs of Sydney where we cared for various dogs and cats, fish, birds and a ferret called Leroy.

I'm a non-smoker and keeping things clean and tidy is a habit for me (it helps when running a business anyway). Being self employed also means that I can be flexible with my routine and I spend more time at home than the average worker (since it's also my office). I'm generally a home-body - a Friday or Saturday night will, more likely than not, see me sprawled on the couch with a good book (with or without a dog or cat, depending on circumstance) rather than out and partying. I'm also physically active and usually walk twice a day - the company of a dog would be an added bonus :-) Rasta was almost 19 when he passed away - as a creaky, blind, deaf old man with arthritis he taught me alot about reading pain/comfort levels and how to modify everything that we did, sometimes on a daily basis, so I hope you can feel confident with me caring for your older boy or girl too..

I'm familiar and confident with rescued dogs, behavioural issues, older dogs and giving medication to dogs and cats (I'm also available to help with behavioural issues however this has a cost involved so best to chat to me about your needs).

My pics:

Me with car - just so you have a reasonable pic of me. Not my car, sadly (so gorgeous!! An MG A, I believe - sigh...)

My fur-kids. Schatzi (German Shepherd 20/4/92-5/12/2004) and Rasta (Hungarian Puli 23/10/97-25/8/2016) was her little brother - yes, he was almost 19 when he passed away. I miss them both terribly but have so many wonderful memories ;-)

Rasta's very first attempt at paddle-boarding - I still feel honoured by the trust that he showed me that day.


Please don't be shy to ask any questions. I look forward to hearing from you :-)
Maria

Reviews (10)
No rating Maria is a fabulous house and pet sitter. This was my first experience trusting someone outside my own family for this important job. Thanks to Maria is was problem free. Bella was suffering a temporary leg injury at the time of the sit, so there were pills to be given and limitations around the length of daily walks etc. Maria adapted to the new conditions easily. Bella was well cared for and my house was left in immaculate condition. I look forward to Maria's next sitting engagement with us.
KIMBERLY (Earlwood NSW, Aug 2018 - 4 days)
Maria is an excellent sitter; clean, tidy, pet-friendly and a lovely person. I can highly recommend her.
 
ASHTON (St Peters NSW, Jun 2020 - 4 days)
Maria has been a fantastic house sitter. Highly recommend her. She is very reliable and the pets love her. It's great to have the peace of mind when you go away that your home and pets will be well cared for.
 
MELISSA (Lilyfield NSW, Sep 2019 - 1 week 2 days)
Maria sat our house and cat Murray for nearly three weeks in June / July 2019. Maria was very professional during our meetings prior to the housesit which gave us confidence that Murray was in good hands. While we were away Maria kept us updated with emails and photos which showed Murray in relaxed and playful situations, which put us at ease that they were getting on well, and he was healthy and happy. Upon our return we found Murray to be exactly that, and we thank Maria for her care ... MORE
 
TASH (Leichhardt NSW, Jun 2019 - 2 weeks 5 days)
Thank you for that, Tash. I'm sorry if ai missed something in the garden - should ai sit for you qagain I'll be sure to take better notes on garden care. Maria
Maria was an excellent house and dog sitter while we were away. She kept us updated with regular photos and comments on our dogs and their enjoyment of their senior years. We noted how the naughtier of the dogs was better behaved on our return, thanks to Maria.
 
LIZ (Annandale NSW, Apr 2019 - 2 months 2 weeks)
Not to worry, Liz, she'll soon revert to her normal self :-) But if you want to learn how to walk her without a danger collar, halter and hysterics when she sees other dogs, I'm happy to work with you :-). Big hugs and cuddles for both please <3
This was our first experience using Aussie House Sitters and Maria was our chosen house and pet sitter . We were away for 10 days and we came home to happy dogs and a tidy house. Maria even walked them the morning after our return home which was most appreciated as we had a late arrival home the night before. Maria took the sheets off the bed and washed them before she left, again small things but they are helpful and appreciated. It rained a fair bit while we were away so not much watering of ... MORE
 
DIANNE (Summer Hill NSW, Mar 2019 - 2 weeks)
Thank you, Dianne, the Doggas were gorgeous to look after and the house and garden are lovely Am looking forward to learning more about worm and bee keeping next time :-). See you then!!
No rating 10/10 Maria was absolutely fabulous! Our first time using Aussie House Sitters and of course we were nervous but when we met Maria beforehand we felt immediately confident and comfortable about leaving our dog Duke, our 2 turtles and our home in her capable hands. We were away 6 weeks and during this time Maria sent us regular updates of what Duke was up to and photos as well. We came home to a happy and content dog (with new toys), our turtles were fed and our house was sparkling clean! I ... MORE
MARIA (Concord NSW, Jun 2018)
No rating I can honestly say that Maria was absolutely lovely. We unfortunately had to move our dates out a week due to our daughter being unwell and Maria was really kind and understanding, even though this put her out accommodation wise. She let me know how Tiger our cat was faring and left the house clean and tidy. I would thoroughly recommend Maria for any future House sits ( as long as they don't clash with any of my future dates :) ) Snap her up quick!
CAMILLA (Newtown NSW, Jun 2018 - 3 weeks)
No rating Maria is wonderful! I hope if we need a sitter again and Maria was available she would accept. Our little boy 'Potter' is NOT your normal 'run of the mill' dog. A very stubborn, agro, lovable, confusing 10 year old terrier who has a mind of his own! Whilst away Maria kept us updated and sent pics which was most appreciated and put our minds at ease. Ian, (my husband) 'Potter' and myself highly recommend Maria!
ROBYN (Croydon NSW, Apr 2018 - 4 weeks)
No rating We really appreciated having Maria come and look after our adored American Staffy. Maria clearly has been around dogs for a long time, even creating a toy for our dog as she showed no interest in playing with the kong wobbler we purchased. We will continue to use this feeding toy to keep bella's mind active. We really couldn't have asked for more, communication was good, our instructions were followed, the house was clean when we arrived home, Bella was in good spirits and she is even walking ... MORE
JILLIAN (Earlwood NSW, Apr 2018 - 1 week 1 day)
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge