Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s)
Preferred Locations
  • TAS: ALL  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
  • 2019: 19Apr-22Apr | 24Apr-29May | 22Jun-2Sep | 14Sep-30Oct | 31Oct-9Nov
  • On a house-sit right now

Animal & House Carer

70, Retired Insurance Broker & Consultant

Now retired and I have my own car.
I am a Tasmanian returned recently to the State and looking at House Sitting as a way of assimilating back into the State as I have not lived here since 1995, but a brief history: Born at Ouse, lived in Waddamana, Launceston, Devonport, Launceston, London, Launceston, Burnie for 20 years, Manila, (Philippines), Brisbane for 16 years, Manila again, now back here. A lot of moving around, but spread over 70 years.
I have sisters living at Bridport and Swansea, another in Wodonga, Victoria and my son lives at Perth with his family, plus other relatives spread around Tasmania.
I worked in the Insurance Industry all my working life, for Insurance Companies and Brokers and completed my career as President and CEO of my Consultancy company (Glenville Consultants Inc.) in the Philippines, providing professional advice to International Expat businesses under contract to Jardine Lloyd Thompson, (JLT) a major International Insurance Broker from the UK.
I have never been a smoker.
Growing up and continuing throughout my life I have always had pets, being dogs, cats, cold water and tropical fish in aquarium and pond and a kangaroo at one time.
In the Philippines owning dogs is a necessary part of life, but I also had my companion, Gracie, a Miniature Pinscher, whom I adopted at the age of 6 weeks. She is still in the Philippines as quarantine regulations make it virtually impossible to bring her to Australia. As much as I miss her, it would also be unfair to subject her to the quarantine procedures, so I have asked a friend to adopt her for me.
Besides work, I also found time to be a member of Apex, the Australian Service Organisation and held positions at Club, District, State, National and International levels and culminated in a Life Membership. I also founded an Apex Club in the city I lived in at the time in the Philippines. While living in the Philippines, I was also a member of Rotary and was a member of Lions for some time when living in Brisbane.
I have never house sat in my life until now, but I bought my first house at age 26, with others to follow over the years.
The house in the Philippines is six bedrooms, three bathrooms, 2 lounge rooms plus the other usual rooms.
I may be contacted via email, mobile phone, (including Viber and Google Duo), Facetime and Skype, plus I have a profile on LinkedIn.
I have a Federal Police Check.
I previously home hosted International Students for several years when I was in Brisbane, and held a now expired Blue Card. One of the students I hosted from Brazil, Carol, has always remained in contact, she is now 40, married, has one child, and still calls me Dad when we communicate on Facebook and email.
I would be happy to discuss this further with you, should you be interested in doing so.

RECENT and FORWARD HOUSESITS.
I commenced two housesits in a consecutive and joint arrangement from 17th June 2017, first of all minding a home in Trevallyn with no animals, until 7th July, 2017 when I commenced a second housesit at Mt Rumney until 31st July, 2017. I looked after 3 dogs, 2 cockatiels, 2 guinea pigs, 8 chickens and one rooster, 6 Alpacas.
At the conclusion of that housesit, I returned to the first house in Trevallyn, to reassume that housesit until 23rd November, 2017. The home owner had embarked on an around Australia tour, but returned earlier than he had originally planned, although he had also been away a few other periods in the meantime.
I have since completed other housesits in Kingston (2 dogs), Youngtown (3 cats) and Mowbray (2 German Shepherds, including a 54kg gentle giant) then returned to Youngtown to look after the 3 cats.
I completed housesits at Newnham looking after 4 cats and 2 dogs for two months, Devonport (2 dogs, 2 cats and aquariums of goldfish and tropical), then Summerhill (2 cats, 1 dog) and Youngtown (1 cat) until 19th September 2018. To follow immediately from that date I had a further "Sit" until 29th October 2018 at Bridport. After that, I then did another sit at Perth, then another at Lilydale.
I was at Acton Park, looking after 20 hectares, 2 dogs, 2 cats, 2 aquariums, 5 chooks and 1 rooster, followed by 2 dogs at Burnie.
The Trevallyn and Youngtown (3 cats) homeowners have since asked me to return for further periods, however, forward bookings precluded me from doing so.
My "Housesits" have been constant since June 2017.
I have references from previous housesits and Police Check in PDF format that may be attached to emails.
I have some "Bookings" until 9th November 2019, with returns invited to previous housesits. See my Availability Calendar for those dates.
Regards
John Swindells

Reviews (4)
No rating John communicated throughout the house sit with updates on the cats and the arrival of mail. He was very flexible when I had a workman come in the middle of his stay and he had to vacate. He came with his own groceries and left The kitchen spotless. The rest of the house was clean when I came home and the cats very content, even my very nervous boy. I would recommend John and use him again for sure.
JOANNA (Youngtown TAS, Oct 2017)
John looked after our house for a little over one month. It was a pleasure to come back to a pristine and tidy house. The dogs, cats, tropical fish and plants looked healthy and happy. Not only did he look after the house but also volunteered to ferry us to and from the airport. We warmly recommend John as a responsible house sitter.
 
ROD (Acton Park TAS, Jan 2019)
Rod made my job easy by providing excellent notes on their expectations and the animals were friendly and no problem to care for.
John looked after our house and animals over the Christmas New Year period. he was very reliable and maintained easy contact while we were away. Our animals seemed very content upon our return and the house was clean & tidy. I would have no hesitation recommending John to anybody looking for a reliable sitter.
 
KIM (Lilydale TAS, Dec 2018)
John has completed a 14 week house sit for us and we came home to a lovely clean house and a very contented cat. He contacted us if there were any problems with puss when she became a fussy cat. I would recommend John and we have requested that he sit for us again next year.
 
ROBERT (Youngtown TAS, Jun 2018)
 
House Security

Safe house!

There is nothing more secure than having people at home while you're away. Get a house sitter.

Feefo badge